Home >> News


POWER SET Inducts New Members

October 10, 2014

On Thursday, October 9th, five young ladies from Van Vleck High School received pearl necklaces as they were inducted into POWER SET for the 2014-2015 school year. Saundie Franz, Mary Catherine McReynolds, Mehgan Orsak, Brianna Srubar, and Caitlin Yates were selected based on scholarship, citizenship, and leadership skills. Inductees pictured are Caitlin Yates, Brianna Srubar, Mehgan Orsak, Mary Catherine McReynolds, and Saundie Franz. Pictured are (back, left) Kelly Bacon, Hanna Harvey, Alex Trevino, Claire McReynolds, Kim Brown, Saundie Franz, Brianna Srubar, Miranda Orsak, (...
>> Read More


Science, Technology Teachers Train at STP

July 29, 2014

News from the South Texas Project High school teachers and counselors are instrumental in helping students maneuver their futures. Many students don't know - or have even thought about - what they will do when they leave high school. But teachers understand how important it is for the students to make good decisions about their future - and they strive to be informed about the choices available so they can help students make informed decisions. About 400 to 500 workers will leave the South Texas Project over the next five years - many of whom are retiring after more than 20 ...
>> Read More


Dr. John W. Poston, Sr. Receives the RPSD 2014 Professional Excellence Award

June 28, 2014

At the recent American Nuclear Society (ANS) summer meeting in Reno, NV, the Radiation Protection and Shielding Division (RPSD) Executive Committee selected Dr. John W. Poston, Sr. to receive the 2014 Professional Excellence Award. Dr. Poston will be presented a plaque at the upcoming RPSD 2014 meeting in September,  www.rpsd2014.org. Dr. John W. Poston, Sr. is recognized "For his exceptional contributions over the last 50 years to the field of radiation protection as an internationally recognized authority on internal radiation dosimetry research, an educator at two major ...
>> Read More


President Obama Nominates Dr. Kenneth L. Peddicord as Member of Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board

June 24, 2014

On June 13, 2014, President Barack Obama announced his intent to reappoint five members of the Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board to another four-year term. The reappointments include Dr. Kenneth L. Peddicord. Appointments to the board come from a list of nominees submitted by the National Academy of Sciences and do not need congressional approval. President Obama said, "Our nation will be greatly served by the talent and expertise these individuals bring to their new roles. I am grateful they have agreed to serve in this Administration, and I look forward to working with them ...
>> Read More


NPI Supports High School Teachers at TAMU for Summer Research, E3: Enrichment Experiences in Engineering

June 9, 2014

The Dwight Look College of Engineering and the Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station (TEES) in partnership with the National Science Foundation are offering Texas secondary school science, math, and career and technical education (CTE) teachers a 2 week summer residential engineering research experience on the Texas A&M University College Station campus. This newly formatted, integrated math/science program is designed to support student success on the TAKS/STAAR. It is with excitement that the Nuclear Power Institute (NPI) has chosen to support Van Vleck High School ma...
>> Read More


News Categories:

  NPI    industry    international    Europe    IAEA    Austria    educators    high school    students    K12    partners    sponsors    middle school    China    Kenya    training    Uganda    POWER SET